谁应该投资TFSA

所有18岁或以上和拥有有效的SIN号码的加拿大公民或永久居民都符合资格开TFSA户口。另外,如果您是退休人士或是全职父母,您可以用您的配偶给予的资金投资自己的TFSA户口。

与RRSP不同之处是,RRSP只能持有到您71岁,您都能在您的有生之年拥有TFSA户口。

益处

至今,加拿大公民或永久居民可以每年缴纳最多$5,500到TFSA户口。如果在某年未能缴纳最高额度,您可以在下一年补回。举例如果您在2016年没有投资任何资金于您的TFSA户口,那么2017年时,您可以再把那部分的资金投资到TFSA当中。

TFSA所取得的增长是免税的。当您取出TFSA的存款时,您是不需要缴交任何税务。

如果您在TFSA提款,您可以在往后重新缴纳同笔款项。举例如果您在2016年从TFSA提出$1,000,那么根据2017年$5,500的最高投资额,您在2017年能投资$6,500在TFSA。这种灵活性造成了TFSA成为适合所有人投资的一种投资工具。

下一步

 在您决定购买任何投资产品前,请向财务保障顾问咨询以达到您的真正需求。

Who should invest in Tax-Free Savings Account

Any Canadian aged 18 and older with a valid social insurance number can open a Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA). Additionally, if you’re retired or a stay-at-home parent, your spouse or common law partner can give you money to contribute to your own TFSA.

Unlike an RRSP, which you can only hold until the end of the calendar year in which you turn 71, you can have a TFSA as long as you live.

Benefits

At the moment, Canadians can contribute up to $5,500 to a TFSA each year. However, if you don’t maximize your contribution room in a given year, the amount can be carried forward to the next year. For example, if you’re unable to put anything in your TFSA in 2016, you can carry the unused contribution room forward and make up the contribution in 2017 or any year after.

Another benefit is that contributions grow tax-free inside the TFSA. This means that, should you need your money, you can make a withdrawal from your TFSA without having to pay taxes on the original investment or its gains.

If you do need to make a withdrawal, you can re-contribute that amount in the following year or any year after. For example, if you withdrew $1,000 from your TFSA in 2016, you can contribute the yearly limit of $5,500 in 2017 plus the $1,000 from the previous year. This flexibility makes the TFSA an excellent savings vehicle for just about anyone.

Next Step

 Your decision should be made with the help of someone who really understands the product.